This is a free service that allows you to provide contact information to law enforcement in the event of an emergency. This information may save crucial time if ever it becomes necessary to contact family members, or other loved ones. This service is only available to individuals holding a current Florida Driver License or Florida Identification Card.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) website contains information regarding all licensing issues and requirements. Floridians 79 years of age or under are issued an eight year license which can be renewed by mail or in person. Drivers age 80 or older are issued a six year license.
Florida has documentation requirements to meet state compliance for the Real ID Act. To meet Real ID requirements you must bring original documents that prove your identity, social security number, and residential address. You must visit an office to renew either your license or identification card when:
- You are applying for your first driver license or identification card
- Your current license or identification card expires and you have already used the one-time renewal option
- You have legally changed your name (for example: by marriage or divorce)
DHSMV's Frequently Asked Questions can also help answer some of your concerns regarding on licensing, including vision and medical issues.
Driver’s licenses in most states are valid for 4 to 6 years, longer in a few states. To renew an expiring license, drivers in many states must appear in person, pay the license fee, and have new pictures taken for their licenses. Some states allow all drivers to renew by mail or electronically.
More than half the states change license renewal requirements for drivers older than a specified age, typically 65 or 70. These changes may include a shorter interval between renewals, in-person renewal (no renewal by mail or electronically), or a vision test at every renewal.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in their CDC Intervention Fact Sheet on License Renewal, "license examiners report that the driver’s appearance at the motor vehicle office is the single most important criterion for identifying a person of any age whose driving skills may be impaired".
The DHSMV maintains a new laws website designed to show all the legislation that affects both traffic and motor vehicle laws.
Section 322.0261, F.S., requires any driver who is the at-fault party in three crashes within three years be required to take a behind-the-wheel driver education course. You can find a listing of driving schools that provide behind-the wheel training on the DHSMV website.
Florida has a Medical Advisory Board (MAB) that consists of doctors who advise the DHSMV on medical criteria and vision standards as they relate to the privilege of having a Florida driver license. The board also reviews medical/vision reports and makes recommendations regarding a person's ability to drive safely.
After the DHSMV receive a
report regarding an unsafe driver, they will notify the reported
driver that they need to take action. Depending on the reported
findings, the driver may be required to take a re-examination (vision,
written, or driving test) or submit a medical report from their doctor
for review by the Medical Advisory Board. The board then considers all
available facts including the driver's medical condition(s), driving
record, and crash history when making their final recommendation.
Florida drivers are required to "move over" or "slow down" when approaching an authorized emergency vehicle that is stopped on our roadways. Read more about this law and how you are required to react on the different types of roadways (i.e., interstate, two-lane) by visiting the Florida Highway Patrol - Move Over Law website.
Under state law, your motor vehicle and driver license records are subject to public disclosure. The Driver Privacy Protection Act keeps your personal information private by limiting who has access to the information.
Ramp Signals are signals that control the rate of vehicles entering a freeway. The signals alternate between red and green indications and the driver must wait for the green signal before he/she may enter the freeway. Some drivers will wait slightly longer at the entrance ramp, however, traffic will flow smoother allowing most people to experience an overall improvement in travel time reliability. Ramp signals are considered traffic control devices and failure to obey ramp signals are subject to the rules of enforcement and fines in accordance with Section 316.074, F.S.
According to Section 316.075(1)(c)(1)(a), F.S, a driver may make a right turn on red only after coming to a full stop after yielding to pedestrians and other road users unless there is a NO TURN ON RED sign posted. This law applies to red arrows as well as red balls.
A sharrow is a shared-use lane marking. As stated in Florida's Driver Handbook, these markings alert motorists that bicyclists may be on the road, indicate bicyclists where to ride, discourage wrong way riding and encourage safer passing of bicyclists by motorists.
According to Section 316.083, F.S., drivers of a vehicle overtaking a bicycle or other non-motorized vehicle must pass at a safe distance of not less than 3 feet between the vehicle and the bicycle or other non-motorized vehicle.
All Florida drivers 80 years of age or older are required to pass a vision test when obtaining or renewing a driver license. The test may be taken at a Florida driver license office at no additional charge. Should you elect to have your vision tested at a driver license office, please schedule an appointment. Your other option is to have a doctor licensed to practice in Florida administer the vision test.
If you pass this vision test, you may continue the process to obtain or renew your license. If you do not pass the vision test, you must have an eye specialist licensed in Florida complete the Report of Eye Examination form and submit it to the DHSMV before you can continue the process to obtain or renew your license.
If your license is revoked as a result of poor vision but improves after treatment, you may apply to get your driver license restored by having your eye specialist complete an updated eye exam report. Take this completed report to your local driver license or tax collector office where you may be re-licensed if your vision meets the minimum requirements. If your license has been taken away for Inadequate Field of Vision, you must mail an updated eye exam report along with charted visual fields to the DHSMV.
To find out how to get any of these vision forms, please visit the DHSMV website.
- The Florida Highway Patrol website has some helpful descriptions of other Florida driving laws.